History

Includes the Messages and Papers of the Presidents: Washington to Hoover (1789-1929) and the Public Papers of the Presidents since 1929

Historic programs of publicly funded radio and television.

A research portal, which contains finding aids and digitized sources from Chicago area archives and libraries.

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more. Each set includes a topic overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee.

Digital exhibits and projects on Chicago’s forgotten or at-risk history.

National Archives site that provides thousands of primary sources for use in classroom activities.

Historical records related to the First Infantry Division in World War I and World War II.

Works Progress Administration of Illinois project, which translated news articles that appeared in the foreign language press from 1855 to 1938. The project consists of typewritten pages translated from newspapers of over 22 different foreign language communities of Chicago.

This site contains a history of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871 as well as a collection of primary sources, including eyewitness accounts..

A digital library in which member academic and research libraries contribute digitized items for greater access.

The Illinois Digital Archives provides access to primary source materials in Illinois libraries, archives, museums, historical societies and other cultural institutions.

Five digitized collections including: Illinois Newspapers, Farm, Field, and Fireside newspapers, vaudeville newspapers, Collegiate Chronicle, and Black Newspapers.

The Library of Congress Digital Collections is a massive online repository of primary sources related to US and global history.

Sets of selected primary sources on specific topics, available as easy-to-print PDFs. Also, background material and tools to guide student analysis.

The new Library of Congress Student Discovery Sets bring together historical artifacts and one-of-a-kind documents on a wide range of topics, from history to science to literature.

Making of America is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

The National Archives holds historical U.S. government documents - federal, congressional, and presidential records. The catalog provides access to their description, as well as records that have been digitized.

Contains milestone documents compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965.

Digitized items from over 200 collections, including photographs from the Los Angeles Daily News, c.1920-1940; documents related to the Japanese American Incarceration during WWII, and much more.

The Veterans History Project of the American Folklife Center collects, preserves, and makes accessible the personal accounts of American war veterans so that future generations may hear directly from veterans and better understand the realities of war.

The Arolsen Archives are an international center on Nazi persecution with an extensive collection of documents about the victims and survivors of National Socialism. Most documents are in the German language.

Historic video footage and shows from this United Kingdom network.

Medieval and Renaissance manuscripts.

Dedicated to providing broad access to Canada's documentary heritage.

Irish literary and historical culture (in Irish, Latin, Anglo-Norman French, and English).

Access digitized materials such as Brazilian Government Documents, 1821-1993; Chinese Pamphlets, 1947-1954, Slavery & Manumission Manuscripts of Timbuktu; and Mexican Intelligence Digital Archives (c.1940-1985)

Films showing images of life in the British colonies.

Digitized documents some with transcriptions, from 1918-1949.

The official report of all Parliamentary debates. Find Members, their contributions, debates, petitions and divisions from published Hansard reports dating back over 200 years. Daily debates from Hansard are published on this website the next working day.

A digital library in which member academic and research libraries contribute digitized items for greater access.

Based at the University of Bristol, digitized photographs of China held, largely in private hands outside China, from 1850s-1950.

Digitized materials about global, political, social, and economic change in the 20th and 21st century.

Houses of Oireachtas (Irish Parliament) Debates from January 1919 to present.

These pages link to selected collection content available online at the Library of Congress, arranged by broad categories.

Manuscript collections of David Livingstone, a British missionary and abolitionist, who traveled to Africa in the nineteenth century.

Documents, photographs and maps from London’s history, 1600s-2000.

Margaret Thatcher opened her private archive in 2003, the first former Prime Minister to have done so during their lifetime. A selection of the best papers are available on-line at this site.

Digitized collections including: First World War, Women and Politics, 1870s-1940, and Britain Empire and Migration, 1880s-1960s, and more.

The National Archives has a variety of online collections and themed primary source sets about the history of Great Britain.

Contains records about key events and decisions that have shaped Australian history from 1901 to present.

English translations of Nazi propaganda for the period 1933-1945, including posters, speeches, pamphlets.

Digitized newspapers, diaries, photographs, and maps from their holdings.

25,000+ objects, letters, photographs, memoirs, and stories from the Second World War shared by the United Kingdom public. Of particular interest in this archive is the Watson Collection.

Full-text access to the London Times newspaper from 1785-2014.