History

Collections of tens of thousands of digitized images, historical documents and more from Illinois academic libraries

Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1849-1998

This database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights.

Harper's Weekly magazine, 1857-1912, covering general topics during the Civil War, Progressive Era and Gilded Age

Historical statistics on population, labor, economics, and government

Full-text of scholarly journals covering most academic subjects.

Full-text access to the London Times covering major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War.

Database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

Full-text archive of the newspaper, 1851-2018, including PDF page images of all issues.

Highly detailed historical maps of cities and towns in the United States. The maps were created by the Sanborn Map Company for the time period of 1867 – 1980.

Essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world, including every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Full-text of nearly 300 national and regional newspapers, plus television and radio news transcripts.