CardinalSearch - Suggested Subject Searches
In order to find books on Chicago area studies, try one of the follow terms in CardinalSearch.
- Names of Chicago neighborhoods (Pilsen, Lawndale, the Loop)
- Names of Chicago suburbs (Glendale, Orland Park, Naperville)
- Names of attractions in Chicago (Navy Pier, Chicago Botanical Gardens)
- Names of people related to the Chicago area (Richard J. Daley, Jane Byrne, John Baptiste Point du Sable)
- Issues and events associated with Chicago (1919 race riots, organized crime, Burnham Plan, settlement house)
Chicago Area Studies Reference Sources
-
Historic Cities of the Americas [2 Volumes]
by
ISBN: 1576070271Publication Date: 2005-09-12 -
Encyclopedia of Chicago
by
Call Number: Electronic Reference Resource External WebsitePublication Date: 2005Produced by the Chicago History Museum, The Newberry Library, and Northwestern University. -
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures
by
Call Number: R. 307.7603 En1eISBN: 0717256987Publication Date: 2002-10-01
Tholin Chicagoana Collection
The Tholin Chicagoana Collection was donated by Richard '49 and Phyllis Eckardt '49 Tholin and their daughters, with the desire that the collection benefit students and faculty of the College.
The collection deals with every aspect of Chicago and its history and contains many unique items. The majority of the collection is housed on the lower level of Oesterle Library. Each item is cataloged and can be found using CardinalSearch. But browsing the shelves is also a great way to see and discover the gems in this collection. These materials cannot be checked out, but may be used whenever the library is open.
